User Roles and Permissions

Manage access to Recurly across your organization with User Roles. Create and assign custom roles based on your unique security requirements to ensure the right people have access to the right features and data.

User Roles

Create custom user roles that accurately reflect your organization's team structure, ensuring the appropriate site users have access to each section within the Recurly App necessary to support their role function.

Creating a New Role

To create a new role, go to the “Roles” page, and press the “Create Role” button on the top-right of the screen.

The “Role Name” field is required. There is also a requirement to select at least one permission within the role in order to successfully create or save a role.

10781078

Site Admin role

The Site Admin role should be assigned to user(s) within your Recurly site that require full-access all permissions across the Recurly App. There must always be at least one Site Admin user assigned on every Recurly production site. This role cannot be deleted or edited, except for the role description.

14381438

Deleting a Role

You can delete a role in two places.
From the Roles list page, hover over the ellipses to choose whether to edit or delete a role.
From a role’s read-view page, click the “Delete Role” button at the top-right of the screen.
If there are any site users assigned to the role you are wishing to delete, you will be prompted with a pop-up prompt that will allow you to reassign those site users to an alternative role prior to deletion of the role you are attempting to delete.
You can use this opportunity to create a new role if none of your existing role options fit the set of users you need to reassign.
After successfully deleting a role, that role will be removed from the Role list page and the site users previously assigned to that role will now have the permissions set under their newly designated role.

Reassigning a Site Admin

To reassign an existing Site Admin to another role within your Recurly site, you must access that user’s profile directly and select the desired alternative role from the User Role selection field. If that user is the only active site user assigned to the Site Admin role, you must first designate an alternative site user to be assigned to the Site Admin role before reassigning the user, as there must always be at least one site user assigned to this role at all times.

Removing a Site Admin

To delete an existing Site Admin to another role within your Recurly site, you must access that user’s profile directly and press the “Delete User”. If that user is the only active site user assigned to the Site Admin role, you must first designate an alternative site user to be assigned to the Site Admin role before successfully deleting the user, as there must always be at least one site user assigned to this role at all times.

Out-of-the-box Roles for Pre-Existing Merchants

For merchants who were live in production prior to migrating to the roles-based user management system: a set of “out-of-the-box” roles has been provided in order to ensure a seamless transition into the new roles system.

All possible unique combinations of permission sets that were assigned to individual site users before the migration were recreated as out-of-the-box roles to reflect the permission combinations that were unique to each site’s users.

Therefore, all production sites will be provided with a set of out-of-the-box roles that will match the permission sets that were assigned to their site users prior to this migration.

Merchants may create their own unique custom roles to assign to any site users. They may rename or delete the provided roles if they so choose, with one exception: the “Site Admin” role, which requires at least one site user be assigned at any given time. Recurly will create the Site Admin role for all sites.

15141514

Permissions

Recurly segments the Recurly admin console into different areas of access for maximum user control. You can create a role with one or more of the below sets of permissions for the appropriate site access. Users will not be able to see or access navigation menu items or pages they do not have access to via their assigned role.

Recurly User Permissions

Customers

There are two options for providing access to this section of the application:

  • Read Only
    User has access to view accounts, invoices, transactions and subscription plans but cannot edit, delete or add to any of the above. Can only add account notes. Cannot access the links for hosted account management or billing information updates. User can view plans, but not create or edit.
  • Can Edit
    User has access to view and edit accounts, subscriptions, invoices and transactions. User can view plans, but not create or edit.

Analytics

User has access to view and export all data under the Analytics navigation section.

Revenue Recognition

User has Read-Only or Admin access to Recurly’s Revenue Recognition platform. The “Allow Access” checkmark to enable/disable general access to Recurly rev-rec in a role will always be present and editable, however, the ability to set whether a role has “Read-Only” or “Admin” access within the rev-rec platform will only be available at the initial time of configuring the role. After the role has been configured and saved, granular rev-rec access is only configurable directly within the Recurly Revenue Recognition platform itself.

**Note that the Revenue Recognition section and corresponding permission set will only appear on Recurly sites who have the Revenue Recognition feature flag enabled.

Configuration

User has access to to view and edit Company Settings, Email Templates, Site Settings, Payment Gateway, Hosted Payments Pages, Coupons, Dunning Management, and Analytics Settings. User can create, edit and view plans.

Integrations

User has access to view and edit Webhooks, API keys, and Recurly Integrations to QuickBooks, Xero, and Mailchimp.

Admin

User can manage their company’s billing information, account settings and Users/Roles/Admin Exports/SSO Settings.