When your customers are ready to start paying you, a subscription can be applied to their Recurly account. This subscription will tell Recurly how often and how much to bill the customer.
Your subscriptions dashboard provides an overview of all accounts with subscriptions managed by Recurly. From this view you can sort your subscriptions by account, plan code, subscription status, subscription creation date, or next subscription invoice date. The filters on this view allow you to bucket accounts by subscription status for easy sorting. Categories overlap and are not necessarily distinct, e.g. the Live filter will return both Renewing and Canceled subscriptions.
- All active subscriptions.
- Live subscriptions that will renew after the current billing period.
- Live subscriptions that are in a trial period.
- Live subscriptions that will not renew after the current billing period.
- Past Due
- Live subscriptions with a past-due invoice.
- Live subscriptions that will become active when the start date arrives.
- Inactive subscriptions.
An account can be subscribed to a plan a number of ways:
Please see our getting started guide to see which integration method is best for your business.
- The subscription's subscription plan.
- The subscription plan's purchase currency. Set to site's default currency.
- The subscription's base price per billing period. The default price can be overriden here for an individual account.
- Default: 1.
Plan Extras (Optional)
- Setup Fees
- If applicable, this fee will be charged to the customer at the beginning of their subscription
In this section, merchants can select for a subscription to start immediately, or enter a future start date for the subscription. For subscriptions with a trial period, the subscription trial will start on this date. Merchants can also have a subscription bill indefinitely or for a set number of billing cycles. The subscription will cancel after the final bill cycle has been charged.
An account may signup for multiple subscriptions. Each subscription is invoiced and billed separately. An account is limited to one subscription per plan, but you can increase the Quantity of an account’s subscription.
Subscriptions can be changed to modify the plan, price, quantity, or to add additional products (add-ons). A subscription change can be issued Immediately or at Renewal. Subscription changes issued immediately will calculate a prorated charge and/or credit and update the subscription immediately, while changes issued at renewal will apply at the next renewal date without being prorated.
For example, assume you have an account that subscribed to your Small Plan at $10/month on the 1st of the month. On the 15th of the month you submit an Immediate change to upgrade their subscription to the Medium Plan at $30/month. We will prorate their subscription, creating a $5 credit for the remaining portion of the Small Plan and a $15 charge for the remaining portion of the Medium Plan for an invoice total of $10. The invoice will be collected and their account will be charged immediately.
If you had issued the subscription change to apply at Renewal, the account would be invoiced for the Medium Plan on the 1st of the next month as expected without any proration.
Note: If a subscription has a pending change for the next renewal, any subsequent subscription changes will overwrite the existing one. Pending changes can be cleared by updating the subscription Immediately with no other changes.
A subscription that is canceled will continue through its current billing cycle. At the end of the current bill cycle the subscription will terminate and the customer will no longer be billed.
Note: If a subscription that is set to start in the future is canceled, the subscription will be deleted from the account and will not show up in the account’s subscription list.
A subscription that is terminated will stop immediately. At the time of termination you will be presented with several refund options (if applicable to the account’s last transaction). You may also terminate a subscription with no refund and then manually refund specific transactions.
A subscription that is canceled can be reactivated. This will bring the subscription back into an active, renewing state on the customer’s original bill cycle. A expired subscription cannot be reactivated; instead a new subscription plan will need to be applied to the account.
By default your subscribers are billed on the anniversary date of their subscription signup. If this date needs to change for any reason, a subscription can be postponed. A postponed subscription will receive no further invoices until the postpone date occurs.
When a subscription is postponed, the bill cycle date will be permanently modified for all future renewals.
A postoponned subscription will not be billed for any prorated period, they will only be billed the subscription amount on their anniversary date.
If a subscription plan is altered, the changes will only impact new subscribers—your current subscribers remain grandfathered in at the subscription plan terms they agreed to at time of subscription signup. Price grandfathering does not apply to changes in bill cycle (ie, monthly to yearly), however, so changes to billing frequency should be made with a new subscription plan.
Your subscriptions dashboard allows a full export of your customer subscription data in CSV format. This export contains the following columns: